Central Dalmatia is located in the southern coastal region of Croatia on the Adriatic Sea. It has several larger islands: Brač, Hvar, Vis, Šolta, with mountains close to the coast and the somewhat separated inland. It is governed as the Split-Dalmatia County of Croatia. The total territorial area is 14,045 km2, of which the land surface is 4,572 km2. According to the administrative territorial structure, it has 16 towns and 39 municipalities. The capital city is Split, the second largest city in Croatia (175,140 inhabitants). Split is an important traffic crossroads, and also the largest ferry port on the Croatian Adriatic coast. The international airport is the second largest in size and traffic importance in Croatia.



But above all, Central Dalmatia is essentially the land of:

  • the crystal clear sea,
  • gorgeous rocky, sandy and pebble beaches,
  • the magnificent canyon of the Cetina river,
  • the towering mountain massif whose foot reaches the sea,
  • culinary delicacies, wines and spirits,
  • olive trees and olive oil
  • an easy-going lifestyle,
  • the klapa music – a traditional form of a cappella singing,
  • the tradition of the hinterlands,
  • the rich cultural heritage and exciting history
  • numerous opportunities for sporting and adrenaline fans